Like Tree2501Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 20th January 2019, 06:52 PM
Cult King
Cult Labs Radio Contributor
Senior Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin101 View Post
I think everyone looks amateur compared to Rigby, and probably Thrower in particular his expertise. There are better slasher books out there though I'm sure!
I think one problem is in the fact i'm not learning anything. Over half way through and there's nothing new, i'm no expert on slashers either, this is the first book i've read on the subject.
troggi likes this.
Old 22nd January 2019, 04:39 PM
Cult Acolyte

Just started another Bernard Taylor novel, The Moonstone Sickness. Promises to be a Wicker Man type folk-horror.

What's feeding my resurgent pulp-horror obsession at the moment is a series of fanzines I discovered over at the Vault of Evil board. I missed the first four issues but issues 1-3 have been reprinted as an omnibus with bonus material - some really nice articles here covering a wide range of horror genres, and impossible not to influence your reading list if you have a hankering for the good old days of the 70s and 80s, when horror ruled the bookshelves. They are available through Amazon.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg collectedpulphorror.jpg (20.9 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg pulphorrormummy.jpg (20.9 KB, 4 views)
Old 14th February 2019, 05:10 PM
Cult Acolyte

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob4 View Post
Just started another Bernard Taylor novel, The Moonstone Sickness. Promises to be a Wicker Man type folk-horror.
I finished The Moonstone Sickness and it was exactly what it promised to be except with a nice identity theft twist to The Wicker Man style denouement.

I've now moved to another Bernard Taylor novel re-printed by Valencourt Books: Sweetheart, Sweetheart which is a ghost story.
Demoncrat, troggi and bleakshaun like this.
Old 16th February 2019, 05:44 PM
Cult Addict