Cult Labs

Go Back   Cult Labs > Entertainment > Television > The Twilight Zone: Official UK Forum > The 1980s Show

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 6th May 2011, 11:31 AM
Cultist

Default 1980s Twilight Zone - First Impressions from a first time viewer

I just wanted to open this thread to post my opinions of 80s Twilight Zone episodes as I watch them.

I'm very new to this series. Despite knowing the originals like the back of my hand (well, almost), I have never seen the first remake series.

So, here are the thoughts of a man who is just starting to watch The New Twilight Zone.

Fan of The Twilight Zone? Then check out The Collector's Room - a sci-fi series in true Twilight Zone fashion.

Last edited by TwilightZoneTom@Cult Labs; 6th May 2011 at 12:13 PM.
Old 6th May 2011, 11:55 AM
Cultist

First up - Button Button.

"Button, Button": A couple receives a box with a button -- and an unusual offer.

I chose this episode first as I was round a friend’s house on Sunday night and I noticed he had a copy of "The Box" on DVD. Now, I knew this was based on a TZ episode but had never seen it - I've never seen the film either.

Having not read Matheson's original story (published in Playboy in 1970), I am wondering whether or not it had a slightly comedic angle to it or whether that was added in by director Peter Medak. The whole concept and story is very unnerving and a wonderful tale of morality and the worth of human life. However the episode has these horrific caricatures of a "down on their luck" trashy couple. The husband has this over-exaggerated lisp and even more bizarrely snores incredibly loudly when he sleeps. It adds nothing to his character and becomes a major distraction.

According to Wikipedia, Matheson didn't like the ending of this episode as it was changed from his original story - despite the fact he wrote the episode under a pseudonym. However, I would argue that it's actually the strongest part of the whole episode.