ebola syndrome.jpg thing.jpg

virus1.jpg rabid.jpg

071210pontypoolposter.jpg band.jpg
Old 2nd October 2018, 10:47 AM
Cult Don
Cult Labs Radio Contributor
Good Trader
Senior Moderator

I wouldn't classify The Thing as a 'Virus' film (it's not currently on my long list) because it's about a single shape-shifting organism rather than something which would infect people, but I wouldn't classify an alien parasite as a Virus.

However, looking at the website where I found the information, they say "Let’s start off with explaining the difference between bacteria, and a virus. First off, bacteria are classically alive, by which we mean they have all the metrics that define life, most importantly of all, cell-structure. Virii, on the other hand, are not quite alive, they’re more like randomly wandering bits of DNA with an attitude problem and a suit of protein-based armor."

As I'm not a scientist, I'm not going to argue too forcefully one way or the other!

I really like Pontypool, but haven't seen Impulse or And The Band Played On – as they are on your top 10 list, I'm guessing you recommend them.
Old 2nd October 2018, 10:58 AM
Cult Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nosferatu@Cult Labs View Post
I wouldn't classify The Thing as a 'Virus' film (it's not currently on my long list) because it's about a single shape-shifting organism rather than something which would infect people, but I wouldn't classify an alien parasite as a Virus.

However, looking at the website where I found the information, they say "Let’s start off with explaining the difference between bacteria, and a virus. First off, bacteria are classically alive, by which we mean they have all the metrics that define life, most importantly of all, cell-structure. Virii, on the other hand, are not quite alive, they’re more like randomly wandering bits of DNA with an attitude problem and a suit of protein-based armor."

As I'm not a scientist, I'm not going to argue too forcefully one way or the other!