Cult Labs

Cult Labs (https://www.cult-labs.com/forums/)
-   General Film Discussions (https://www.cult-labs.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=563)
-   -   What Have You Bought Recently? (https://www.cult-labs.com/forums/general-film-discussions/10681-what-have-you-bought-recently.html)

Nosferatu@Cult Labs 15th June 2012 06:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by suziginajackson (Post 250613)
I will admit that I have little knowledge, understanding or interest in politics, but I have always found it incredibly ironic that the original Paul Wegener version of 'Der Golum' (1920), which was made in Germany with a German cast and crew, was stoutly pro-Jew

"In 16th-century Prague, a Jewish rabbi creates a giant creature from clay, called the Golem, and using sorcery, brings the creature to life in order to protect the Jews of Prague from persecution." - IMDB synopsis

That's not entirely surprising as anti-Semitism was only prominent in several German films, all commissioned (if not made) by Joseph Goebbels and the Ministry for Popular Enlightenment and Propaganda.

I can't think of a single film made before the Nazi party took power which had overtones (or even undertones) as anti-Semitism.
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bringer Of Funerals (Post 250619)
I havent heard of any of those Nazi films

Do yourself a favour and, aside from reading the Wikipedia articles the titles link to, don't investigate any further. I don't think you can buy those two I mentioned as I had to borrow them specially from Newcastle Uni's video library, where they were ordered for academic purposes and came with strong warnings!

Hawkmonger 15th June 2012 07:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pete (Post 250614)
CALAMITY OF SNAKES is an evil film imo. The sheer level of snake abuse in that film is truly horrific. If I could I'd have every print of it burned.

Here here! A repulsive film.